So, I played my first ball game and experienced a minor injury.  This happened to me before (10 years ago) and it caused tremendous pain.  The injury, I call it Modified Turf Toe, was due to ill fitted shoes while stopping and my toes were constantly jammed to the front of the shoes. 

‘Turf Toe’ is a condition of pain at the base of the big toe, located at the ball of the foot. The condition is usually caused from either jamming the toe, or pushing off repeatedly when running or jumping. The most common complaint is pain at the base of the toe, but you may also have symptoms of stiffness and swelling.

10 years ago, I was playing senior men’s hard ball and experienced extreme big toe pain.  I just thought it was from a lot of use and it would eventually wear off.  Well, I noticed that both my big toes had bruises and after about 2 months, I lost both toe nails.  I was shocked.

Fast forward to today – it was not my big toes, but my third and fourth toes on both feet, now have bruises.  I like doubling up on my socks to provide more padding to my feet and I think this closed up the space from the end of my feet to the front of the shoes.  Maybe it is just time to get some new shoes.

