I have seen this exercise floating around some workout sites and forums and some crossfit sites and I didn’t anything of it.  An overhead squat?  Big deal.  I’ll just do a normal squat. 

Well, let me tell you, it is unlike a normal squat.

Preparation

Snatch the barbell overhead with a very wide overhand grip.  Position toes outward with wide stance.  Maintain bar behind head with arms extended.

Execution

Descend until knees and hips are fully bent or until thighs are just past parallel to floor. Knees travel in direction of toes. Extend knees and hips until legs are straight. Return and repeat.

I tried it for the first time this afternoon.  I started with a bar and 10lb plates on it.  This is a total of 65lb – which is not very much at all, especially for a squat. 

With the weight light, snatching the bar is really unnecessary.  Just curl it up and press it over your head and lock your elbows.  Going down though is a different story. Having the bar above your head forces your back to remain super straight.  You are also using all of your core to support that weight.  This is an excellent exercise for a full body lift, to promote testosterone production and calory burn. 

I managed 3 sets of 6 reps.  Wow – try it with low weight at the start.

